Poetry

I Want to Be Your Drawing Pen

Inspired by “I Want to Be Your Shoebox” by Catherine Bowman.

I want to be your drawing pen.

I want to be the colored pencil that colors your world in.

I want to be your candy tin.

I want to be your sail boat.

I want to be the water on which you float.

I want to be the sand underneath your feet.

I want to be your riding jacket-

trusted and true, faded and worn.

I want to be your pair of brackets.

I want to be the wind in your hair-

tickling your short strands.

I want to be something you try on a dare-

Stupid and full of courage.

I want to be your dry bread dipped in honey-

something you won’t eat.

I want to be your hair dye.

I want to be the clouds in the sky

As you fly by, free like a kite.

I want to be your motorcycle-

both freeing and grounding you.

I want to be your pirate Captain.

Leave a Reply

